Main Content


Marker News and Dedications

Menu: Upcoming 2017 Marker Dedications / Recently Dedicated 2017 Markers / Historical Marker News 

Upcoming 2017 Marker Dedications


October 27 / Marion

Caroline Scott Harrison

Press Release with Dedication Information


TBA / Marion

Madam Walker

Dedication Information Coming Soon


Recently Dedicated 2017 Markers

March 22 / Madison County

Indians Murdered 1824 


April 3 / Franklin County

Passenger Pigeon Extinction


April 19 / Morgan County

Branch McCracken


May 20 / Marion County

Little Sisters of the Poor


May 20 / Brown County

T.C. Steele Home, Studio, Gardens


June 10 / Hendricks County

Adrian A. Parsons, 1846-1929 / Indiana's Soybean Pioneer


June 29 / St. Joseph County

Kenneth Rexroth


July 8 / St. Joseph County

Better Homes of South Bend


July 14 / Knox County

Red Skelton "One of America's Clowns"


August 16 / Union County

Wanted by FBI / Captured by G-Men


September 10 / Marion County

"Cannon Ball" Baker


September 24 / Randolph

Union Literary Institute

October 6 / Marion

Demise of German Language Newspapers


See also: Past Marker Dedications


Historical Marker News

Recent Progress

  • In 2016, during the state’s bicentennial year, IHB staff, working with many wonderful county historians, local bicentennial coordinators, and volunteers, conducted a comprehensive survey of every state historical marker installed across Indiana dating back to the 1940s
    • 544 markers are currently standing as of December 31, 2016
    • 463 (or 85.11%) of the markers standing are in good or excellent condition
  • Indiana state historical markers are located in 88 of the state’s 92 counties. The four counties without any standing state historical markers as of December 31, 2016 are: Clinton, Dubois, Jay, and Newton
  • Volunteers across the state helped clean and repaint at least 14 state historical markers in 2016:
    • Camp Allen (Allen Co.), Sycamore Row (Carroll Co.), Wabash and Erie Canal (Carroll Co.), Grouseland Treaty Line (Jennings Co.), First Electrically Lighted City (Wabash Co.), New Purchase Boundary (Grant Co.), Civil War General John T. Wilder (Decatur Co.), Spencerville Covered Bridge (DeKalb Co.), Wm. Wells (Whitley Co.), Morgan's Raid (Ripley Co.), Forks of the Wabash; Canal Landing; Drover Town; Lime City (Huntington Co.)


  • Volunteers across the state helped fund replacement posts for four markers:
    • Sycamore Row (Carroll Co.), Wabash and Erie Canal (Carroll Co.), Wolcott House (White Co.), Camp Hughes (Owen Co.)


  • IHB staff, working with marker sponsors, volunteers, and city officials coordinated repairs, refurbishment, and reinstallation of ten markers in 2016:
    • Levi Coffin House (Wayne Co.), Bethel AME Church (Marion Co.), C.G. Conn Company (Elkhart Co.), Mob Violence (Floyd Co.), William Bratton (Montgomery Co.); Henry S. Lane (Montgomery Co.), Benack's Village (Marshall Co.), Indiana School for the Blind (Marion Co.), William Merritt Chase (Johnson Co.), Randolph County Quakers (Randolph Co.)

2017 Goals

Working with individuals and organizations throughout the state, the IHB will,

  • Announce and implement a 2017 application deadline and process for new markers
  • Continue to work to ensure that the texts and/or supporting documentation of all Indiana State Historical Markers, past and present, are supported with reliable primary sources
  • Continue to survey and maintain the collection of standing Indiana State Historical Markers, which belong to the State of Indiana.
    • During 2017, IHB staff will be looking for county historians and volunteers to help survey markers in the northern counties of the state. If you happen to come across any of our state historical markers in your travels, please send updated photos to CPfeiffer@library.in.gov

If you or your organization is interested in applying for an Indiana State Historical Marker, please read the 2017 Marker Application information and see our Guidelines and Procedures